MINUTES BOARD OF SUPERVISORS FOR THE UNIVERSITY OF LOUISIANA SYSTEM SPECIAL MEETING September 14, 2023

A. Call to Order/Roll Call

The Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System met for a Special Meeting on Thursday, September 14, 2023 at 10:15 a.m. The meeting was held in the Louisiana Purchase Room of the Claiborne Building, 1201 North Third Street, Baton Rouge. Chair Elizabeth Pierre called the meeting to order.

PRESENT

Mr. Virgil Robinson
Mr. Mark Romero
Ms. Kristine Russell
Mr. Joe Salter
Mr. Brad Stevens
Ms. Julie Stokes
Ms. Bailey Willis

Ms. Elizabeth Pierre

ABSENT

Mr. Alejandro "Al" Perkins

Also present were the following: System President Jim Henderson, System staff, and Attorneys Brandon DeCuir and Linda Clark.

B. <u>Invocation</u>

Ms. Kristine Russell provided the invocation to open the meeting.

C. Report of University of New Orleans Presidential Search Committee

Non-voting Chair of the Presidential Search Committee, Dr. Jim Henderson, reported that the Search Committee had begun its work in May with an inaugural meeting to solicit input from the campus community concerning desired characteristics for a new president. The next meeting was held in August to review applications and select semifinalists. At that meeting the Committee chose five candidates for interview: Dr. Kathy Johnson, Dr. Walter Kimbrough, Dr. Darrell Kruger, Dr. Michael Moore, and Dr. Larissa Littleton-Steib. On August 28-29 interviews were conducted and the Committee decided to recommend two finalists, Dr. Kathy Johnson and Dr. Walter Kimbrough, to the Board for interview at a Special Meeting.

Chair Henderson thanked the Committee members for their participation in the process: Dr. Jimmy Clarke, Ms. Jo Lethermon, Mr. Al Perkins, Mr. Dana Peterson, Ms. Elizabeth Pierre, Mr. Virgil Robinson, Mr. Mark Romero, Mr. Brad Stevens, Ms. Julie Stokes, Ms. Bailey Willis, Dr. Chris

Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System Special Meeting Minutes September 14, 2023 Page 2

Broadhurst, Mr. Ricky Burke, Mr. Bill Chauvin, Dr. Tammi Griffin-Major, Ms. Susan Hess, Mr. Bivian "Sonny" Lee, Ms. Becky Mackie, Ms. Judy Reese Morse, Mr. Brendan Mott, Mr. Bobby Savoie, and Mr. Gary Solomon. Additionally, Dr. Henderson thanked the University of New Orleans for hosting the candidates, committee members, and staff while they were on campus.

D. Overview of Interview Procedures

It was reported that there were no public comments.

Ms. Pierre explained the interview process for the meeting. She indicated that each finalist will be introduced, given an opportunity to present an opening statement, and then interviewed by the Board. After each interview, the Board will meet in Executive Session with the finalist. At the conclusion of the Executive Session with the second finalist, the Board will remain in Executive Session to continue discussions. At the conclusion of the second Executive Session, the Board will return to Open Session for discussion and a vote.

E. <u>Candidate Interviews</u>

Dr. Kathy Johnson

After being introduced to the Board, Dr. Kathy Johnson made an opening statement. After several questions from the Board, upon motion of Mr. Stevens, seconded by Dr. Condos, at 10:51 a.m., the Board voted to adjourn to Executive Session.

The following affirmative vote was taken: Mr. Busada, Dr. Clarke, Dr. Condos, Mr. Davison, Ms. Dunahoe, Ms. Lethermon, Mr. Peterson, Ms. Pierre, Mr. Robinson, Mr. Romero, Ms. Russell, Mr. Salter, Mr. Stevens, Ms. Stokes, and Ms. Willis. None was in opposition.

At 11:44 a.m., upon motion of Ms. Dunahoe, seconded by Dr. Condos, the members reconvened in Open Session.

Dr. Walter Kimbrough

Dr. Walter Kimbrough was introduced to the Board, and he made his opening statement. He also introduced his wife, Adria. After questions from Board members, upon motion of Mr. Peterson and seconded by Mr. Busada, the Board adjourned to Executive Session at 12:11 p.m.

The following affirmative roll call vote was recorded: Mr. Busada, Dr. Clarke, Dr. Condos, Mr. Davison, Ms. Dunahoe, Ms. Lethermon, Mr. Peterson, Ms. Pierre, Mr. Robinson, Mr. Romero, Ms. Russell, Mr. Salter, Mr. Stevens, Ms. Stokes, and Ms. Willis. None was in opposition.

At 2:28 p.m., upon motion of Ms. Dunahoe, seconded by Dr. Clarke, the Board reconvened in Open Session. There was a roll call vote: Mr. Busada, Dr. Clarke, Dr. Condos, Mr. Davison, Ms. Dunahoe, Ms. Lethermon, Mr. Peterson, Ms. Pierre, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Russell, Mr. Salter, Mr. Stevens, Ms. Stokes, and Ms. Willis. None was in opposition.

Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System Special Meeting Minutes September 14, 2023 Page 3

F. **Deliberations**

After returning from Executive Session, Ms. Pierre asked for comments from the Board. Upon motion of Ms. Stokes, seconded by Ms. Willis, the following resolution was made:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System hereby recommends that the Board appoint Dr. Kathy Johnson as President of University of New Orleans and hereby authorizes UL System President Jim Henderson and Board Chair Elizabeth Pierre to negotiate the terms of appointment and execute an offer of employment on behalf of the Board.

The following affirmative roll call vote was recorded: Mr. Busada, Dr. Clarke, Dr. Condos, Mr. Davison, Ms. Dunahoe, Ms. Lethermon, Ms. Pierre, Mr. Romero, Ms. Russell, Mr. Salter, Mr. Stevens, Ms. Stokes, and Ms. Willis. Mr. Peterson and Mr. Robinson voted in opposition to the resolution. The resolution passed.

G. Introduction of President of University of New Orleans

Dr. Johnson was escorted back into the auditorium. She thanked the Board and said she was delighted to be selected and excited to begin the work. As a UNO alumna, Ms. Stokes welcomed her. Mr. Peterson said that he looks forward to working with Dr. Johnson to grow the University. Ms. Willis also stated that she was interested in the positive impact on students that Dr. Johnson can have.

H. Other Business

There was no other business to come before the Board.

I. Adjournment

There being no further business, upon motion of Mr. Stevens and a second by Ms. Lethermon, at 2:35 p.m., the Board voted to adjourn.